Carlow Golf Classic

Carlow Golf Classic

With our verdant landscape and mild climate, Ireland is one of the world’s premier destinations for golf – and we have plenty of home-grown players of all ages and levels of ability, too! Both professional and amateur golfers flock to Ireland from all over the world to enjoy playing the real beautiful game in gorgeous natural surroundings and to enjoy Irish hospitality.


Carlow offers an ideal setting for golf and, with a location accessible from Dublin and other major urban centres, and from a wide hinterland, is perfect for golfing events. Coming up from September 4th – 6th, the 2017 Carlow Golf Classic is sure to be a big draw yet again, with players from both Ireland and overseas coming together for what promises to be a super three days.


Carlow Golf Club, Bunclody Golf and Fishing Club (right on the border between Co. Carlow and neighbouring Co. Wexford), and Mount Wolseley (which is also a destination spa) are the venues taking part. All are nestled in rolling green landscapes, with spectacular views across the countryside – which in September will still be looking its best. All of the courses are impeccably maintained, with interesting challenges around every corner that offer you the chance to get full use from your clubs and display your skills. Club facilities are top-notch, with state-of-the-art changing facilities, and really excellent restaurant and bar services – after all, the “après-golf” is almost as important as anything that happens on the course!


With daily prizes, a ladies’ prize, mixed prizes, overall winner prizes (first, second and third), and a gala dinner, the event welcomes golfers from diverse backgrounds – and there is plenty to do in the Carlow area for golf spouses or accompanying children or friends who might want to take a break from the action now and again!


While early bookings have been completed, anyone who wishes to take part can do so for the attractive price of just 185 Euros, which covers a round of golf on each of the three courses, a daily lunch, and a gala banquet dinner on the last night, followed by the prize-giving ceremony and entertainment. The early-tee off rate of 150 Euros per person also includes all of these great benefits, and we still have many tickets available for early birds. If you wish to qualify for this rate, golfing starts between 8 and 9.20 in the morning. Accommodation providers in the area are offering special packages for the event. Booking closes on August 31st, and interest is high, so get in touch with us at Carlow Tourism at: 059-9130411 or if you would like to take part! You can find full details of the event and our range of special offers on our website. We can’t wait to see you here!

County Carlow Golf Classic 2017 – Results

Winners Overall
1st  – Team 33 – Score 281 points Handicap Club
Paul Corcoran 10 Lisselan
Owen Ryan 10 Lisselan
Andrew Welton 9 Lisselan
John Tanner 12 Lisselan
2nd – Team 32 – Score 274 points Handicap Club
Kevin Doyle 16 Grangecastle
Ian Doyle 19 Hollystown
John Bird 15 Grangecastle
3rd – Team 29 – Score 269 points Handicap Club
William Kennedy 18 Luttrellstown
John Molloy 21 Castleknock
Bernard McCarthy 18 Castleknock
Niall Swaine 17 Slievenamon
Ladies Winners
1st – Team 15 -Score 222 points Handicap Club
Ingrid Brown 19 Corrstown
Mary Kavanagh 16 Corrstown
Suzanne Reynolds 24 Corrstown
Mary Martin 15 Corrstown
2nd – Team 35 – Score 219 points Handicap Club
Ann Brennan 17 Corrstown
Frances Nagle-Connor 19 St. Annes
Mags Kelly 22 Corrstown
Eithne Cusack 20 Castleknock
Mixed Winners
1st – Team 13 – Score 263 points Handicap Club
P.J. Owens 2 Cahir Park
Myra O’Leary 28 Calanova G.C.
Pat O’Connell 16 Cahir Park
Dan O’Connell 16 Slievenamon
Daily winners – Carlow
1st – Team 16 – Score 96 points Handicap Club
John Butler 18 Swinford
Gerard Kirby 19 Ballymoney
Tony Butler 14 Swinford
Mark O’Neill 16 Ballymoney
2nd – Team 30 – Score 94 Handicap Club
Michael Buggie 18 Mountrath
Josh Buggie 6 Mountrath
Pascal Dunphy 7 Mountrath
Brendan Buggie 14 Mountrath
3rd – Team 19 – Score 93 Handicap Club
Joe Hussey 22 Strandhill
Colm Loftus 17 Carrick on Shannon
Daragh Loftus 16 Strandhill
Finnian Loftus 21 Kilkock
Daily winners – Bunclody
1st  – Team 27 – Score 88 Handicap Club
Edward O’Connor 17 Dungarvan
Jim Quinn 23 Dungarvan
Paddy Barry 20 Dungarvan
Tom Butler 16 West Waterford
2nd – Team 38 – Score 87 Handicap Club
Pat Phelan 12 Dungarvan
Jim Harty 15 Dungarvan
Des O’Leary 14 West Waterford
Tom Flynn 18 Carrick on Suir
3rd – Team 40 – Score 85 Handicap Club
Shaun Kelly 9 Ballyliffen
Jim Toal 19 Balmoral
Peter McMahon 15 Balmoral
Vincent Lynn 20 Ballyliffen
Daily winners – Mount Wolseley
1st – Team 36 – Score 85 Handicap Club
Michael Meaghar 15 Naas
Martin Kilfoyle 12 Naas
Martin Wall 9 Athy
Rory Dooley 22 Citywest
2nd – Team 22 – Score 84 Handicap Club
Bren Cowman 22 Blackbush
Kieran O’Sullivan 18 Druids Glen
Miriam Horan 24 Blackbush
Sheila O’Sullivan 14 Druids Glen
3rd – Team 10 – Score 79 Handicap Club
Derek O’Byrne 8 Mallow
John O’Sullivan 10 Mallow
Alan Cambridge 8 Mallow
Ger Dolan 15 Mallow